Revolutions Evaluation

Pre Production Evaluation –

A lot of the Pre Production work that I did helped a huge amount in terms of planning my filming stages. Without the time schedule, filming shoot plans, and all the other little pieces of work I did, I wouldn’t of been in as much of a secure positon in terms of filming the actual movie, the plans helped because it meant that we could go out and film exactly the right scenes because that’s what we needed to do at that certain point in the project. Without these plans, we would’ve had no idea what to film, when to film it and how to film it, meaning ultimately the film would’ve been fairly terrible.

We also changed the storyline of out film to make it easier for ourselves as we had issues with our actor not being able to film and when he could, we were on a tight schedule. Too tackle this, next time we will be sure to tell our actor the seriousness of the situation and that he/she will need to be flexible with their times to fit around the filming shoots.

Visual Evaluation –

Our final film was overall a success. Apart from a few issues which I will explain in this post. First off with the visuals of the film… We made a little mistake which was at the end of some of the options that take place, it shows a screen saying ‘you released the hackers details’ which was only the case for one of the outcomes not four of them. Consequently, whilst adding annotations onto the film on youtube in the final stages, I added a note over the top of the wrong messages which clears up the problem, it just looks a little untidy.

I like the quality of the visuals in our project in terms of filming. We used a range of different shots and had access to two cameras meaning we had a lot more potential than someone just using one camera. Using different focal lengths and exposures on through out the film, I believe the visuals are successful, we made no silly mistakes such as accidently coming into shot and seeing our shadows etc. The reason we chose to film in the places we did was due to a couple of reasons. 1 being that the area was quiet meaning we wouldn’t have to worry too much about people getting in the shots in crucial moments etc. and 2 being because it fits the genre of our film, what I mean by this is that if we were to film somewhere which people are stereotyped as happy, for example on a beach then this would change the tone of our film. We wanted the tone of our film to be dull/depressing to show the emotion of the main character. So filming in these locations of just plain fields with little to look at was on purpose.

The props we used in our film were also all used for a reason, as you will notice our actor had his hood up for almost the entire film, our reason for this was to show his nervous nature as the hood showed us he was almost trying to hide away beneath it. We used barely any props for our film due to the fact it only involved one actor and a phone. We were mainly focused on the phone or actor for the entire film with a few extra props such as a bag of drugs etc.

 

Interactive Evaluation –

Our editing (as previously mentioned) was successful, in my opinion if our editing was bad then the film would’ve had literally no hope due to the nature of it, dull filming locations, and terrible audio. I’m happy with the quality of the editing and although we could’ve improved it a lot more, the film is at a good enough standard to be enjoyable. I also mentioned the fact that we had an issue with exporting our video, but this was just a silly mistake due to not plugging in the right memory stick, furthermore I’ve had to private my film due to it involving copyrighted content. The option screens in our film represent the theme really well as you will have seen if you watched the film itself, we made 2 options screens to mix things up a bit as one may have been a little boring. Plus we wanted to show that we were capable and had the time management to make two. The type of storyline we went for is a little different to the other people in our group. We decided to make it so that if you pick ‘don’t take the bag’ in the first option screen, you die. Whereas if you pick the right option it leads onto another option, and whichever option you choose from then on leads to a different outcome/ending.

Filming Shoot Evaluation –

I believe shoot 1 was a successful shoot although it could’ve worked out a lot better than it did. The first issue we faced was determining when the shoot would take place. At first this wasn’t an issue until we had to cancel the shoot twice, at this point we began to worry as to when it would get done. The second problem we were faced with is the fact that we didn’t film as much as we’d of liked to, this is due to the fact we have half term next week which will give us more flexibility to film on more dates, if it wasn’t half term next week I feel like we would be in a difficult situation and end up rushing.

Enough about the issues of the shoot, lets talk about some of the positives. We still managed to film a decent chunk of the film for our first shoot and although we changed filming dates a couple of times at least we still did it on the weekend planned. Filming actually took place on Sunday 5th and if you’ve followed my recent blog posts you will have seen the original filming shoot 1 plan. What matters is that we are on track, and from now I’m going to try and make sure that all/most our filming is done by Tuesday 21st (the day we come back) so we can spend a week on just editing the film and tying up loose ends the following week, stay tuned for a filming shoot 2 plan.

Parametres (Project Metric) –

Project Metric (Read from the bottom up)

Week 12 – 06/02/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?)  10/03/2017 – Today is the deadline for all our work.  I am just finishing my evaluation and then I will have finished all the work that needs to be done.  Towards the end I have been rushing a little but not enough for me to not submit a substantial amount of work.
Cost (Do you have a budget?)  —————  The budget for this unit and our film was low and I didn’t need to spend much money.  —————
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?)  It has been 12 weeks since the project begun and I feel that 12 weeks was plenty of time to meet the deadlines.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?)  Hand in all work by 16:15 today. (12/03/2017)
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?)  As you will have read, we had a few issues with our film but it is all sorted now.  We managed to fix the issues we were faced with fairly quickly and there is no permanent damage.  Higher concentration levels would’ve avoided this situation.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding)  Finish evaluation and hand in work on time.  I have thoroughly enjoyed this unit and I am looking forward to the next one.

Week 10 & 11 – 20/02/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?) 1 Week left, The deadline for our film is/was the 3rd of March. We managed to get together all our clips and edit them with sound. Just so you know we dd another shoot on Sunday 26th getting the last clips needed. We still need to upload our video on youtube. So technically we are behind schedule.
Cost (Do you have a budget?) No more money needed for the film.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) We have spent the last couple of weeks editing and have 1 week left to finish off anything else and complete the evaluation. We should finish on the deadline as long as we do a lot of work in the next week . If we don’t do enough work over the next week then we won’t reach the deadline.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?) *Please read previous week*
  • Upload film to YouTube
  • Evaluate work
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) The quality of our movie is good enough and is HD. The quality of our shots and filming is also good with shots from multiple angles to build up a scene. Different shots where the focus changes have been executed properly otherwise the film would look shoddy. Some of our shots could’ve been more ‘artsy’ as a lot of them are quite basic, however the film is still looking good.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) We now need to upload our film to YouTube and complete our evaluation. We have finished the most difficult part of our project which makes me very happy to say. We just have to get through this last weeks events and then our work will be sent off to mark.

Week 9 – 13/02/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?) A couple of weeks left on this project. I feel like we’re going to hit the deadline. Any issues with losing files etc will seriously set us back.
Cost (Do you have a budget?)  No more props are needed for my film. Nor locations which need to be payed for.  No more money needs to be spent. I wouldn’t really say this is a negative but it is completely optional whether we choose to pay our actor. If we do, we will obviously be set back in money but that isn’t really an issue.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?)  We have filmed around 2/3 of our project and plan to film another small section by Sunday. If we do this it means we can spare the following weekend to film the last part.  This half term break has helped incredibly in terms of getting filming done. If we don’t film on Sunday it means we will have to film the following weekend and that is our last chance to film.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?)  *Please read previous week*  We have stuck to the plan and filmed the majority of our film and still have the weekend to film a little more.  I would’ve liked to have filmed everything by now in an ideal world but never mind. We have filmed majority and are still on track and thats what matters.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) *Please read previous week*  Im happy with the quality of the filming, we had access to 2 cameras and 2 tripods meaning it took less time to film and we also got a wide range of successful shots. A few of the shots are a little over exposed due to the sun but to be honest it doesn’t even look that bad.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) We need to film the rest of our scenes and then the project will just involve purely post-production. We are on track which is good and means we should reach the deadline. If we do not manage our time correctly we will be set back.

Week 8 – 06/02/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?) Around three weeks left with this project as the deadline begins to creep up. Providing we get all the filming done in half term we will still be on time. If  we don’t obtain all the filming in half term then this is going to be an issue.
Cost (Do you have a budget?) The budget is no longer a problem as I have bought the props needed for my film. No more money needs to be spent on my film. I still haven’t paid the actor for his time, however I will do when the filming complete, the reason I wouldn’t count this as budget is because we decided at a later date to pay our actor. It was optional.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) I’m hoping to have film everything within about 6 hours which will be spread out over half term. The good thing about having a week off is that we can film all the scenes with more time as everyone involved has time off college. Although we do have time off college, I myself have a job as you know and I’m working a few of the nights in half term, however this shouldn’t be an issue as our setting in the film is mainly based in the day time.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?) *Please read previous week* The idea from now is to film the majority of our film which is entirely possible as we have time off college specifically dedicated to filming. Next week (half term) is a crucial time to film and if we do not film then we will be limited as to when we an film in the future.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?)  *Please read previous week*  Quality for the shoots over the half term will be good. I can safely say this because we have access to 2 cameras and equipment such as tripods. Another weather update, if it was to rain in half term then we would be limited as to when we would film, and the footage would be rubbish and difficult to film.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) FILM NEXT WEEK Half term gives us plenty of time to film what we need to film. If we do not manage our time correctly we will be set back.

Week 7 – 30/01/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?) There is now 4 weeks left until our project must be finished. We still have a good amount of time for this project to be finished and we are on track. Although we managed to film around 1/3 of our film, if the footage isn’t suitable we will just have to do it again but it isn’t a major set back as it is half term the week after next so we have a lot of free time to film.
Cost (Do you have a budget?)  The budget is no longer a problem as I have bought the props needed for my film. No more money needs to be spent on my film. The cheap knife prop that I bought has broken, it still does the job which I why I am not going to buy another one, but if it gets any worse I will have to consider re opening the budget.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) All resources have been acquired for my project and so far in filming time I have spent just under 2 hours and managed to get 1/3 of it done.  As mentioned, I have a week off from college the week after next so I will have plenty of time to get footage ready to edit when I return to college.  I want to be spending at least 6 hours over the half term week on getting footage, this may be difficult due to my other commitments such as working and the actors commitments.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?)   As you have read in last week’s column, this project cover units 5, 6 and 7 and we are required to make an interactive video with the subject of revolution. I am doing the theme of gangs and cyber black mail. The scope still remains the same for this week and will do for the next couple, I am doing well in filming and this half term break is going to help out hugely. The filming stage is probably the most difficult in my opinion as our actor has many other commitments so we will need to ‘book him in’ to fit our schedule, furthermore, aspects such as weather can effect this crucial filming stage.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) Problems with quality will always occur when making films, if this doesn’t happen it means you’re not doing it right, if you are constantly questioning your quality (both technological and in general) it means you are striving to make a better film. The quality of the footage in my first shoot in my opinion was fairly effective. The reason I say fairly is because some of the shots were filmed facing towards the sun and others were close ups of texts on a phone which didn’t show up to well, but other than that it has been fairly positive. Although this doesn’t really come under quality, the weather in my film was sunny/overcast on the Sunday that we filmed, meaning for the rest of the film to look realistic the weather must also be sunny and/or overcast. how this shouldn’t be too much of a problem as we have a week off over half term and its bound to be decent weather on one of those days.

Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) –

Positives: As mentioned last week, I am most excited about the filming stages of this project as it is what excites me the most. I feel like the first shoot was successful and I am excited for the next shoot.

Negatives: A negative in the situation is that yes I will be filming in the half term break, but I cannot help the fact if it is raining on the day we film, if it works out this way we may have to record a large bulk of what we recorded on shoot 1. Hopefully the weather will be the same as shoot 1 otherwise some improvisation will be needed.

Week 6 – 23/01/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?)  We now have around 5 weeks left.  I am still on track to finish all the work on time providing I stick to the new plan and no other complications get in the way.  Last weekend we were unable to film as my partner was ill with tonsillitis and I needed him to be there for the filming, however it is not too much of an issue we will just have to fit in another hour or so this weekend to make up for lost time.
Cost (Do you have a budget?) I do have a budget but it is not like I have to spend a lot of money, I am also dividing it with the person I am working with.  I have purchased all the props that I need but I am also getting more hours at work as it is getting a little more busy so I am in a better position to buy props if need be.  Touching on last weeks comment, I feel obliged to pay the actor in our film but this is not as much of an issue now that I have more money.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?)  As mentioned I have acquired all the props I need for my film, now I just need to work on the time schedule for the filming process.  With 5 weeks left of the project I feel I will meet the deadline as these 5 weeks from now will be used to film and edit and it is plenty of time.  Time is running out, we didn’t film last weekend meaning we have been set back a little but this can be easily fixed.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?)  As you have read in last week’s column, this project cover units 5, 6 and 7 and we are required to make an interactive video with the subject of revolution. I am doing the theme of gangs and cyber black mail.  The next aim of the project is the filming stage, all pre-production is complete so now I am just waiting to plan the filming stage.   Like with the pre-production, I must make sure my time management is successful so I can continue the main scope of the project (filming) with ease. *Taken from last week* As previously mentioned we weren’t able to film last weekend so I have rearranged the timetable and will try my best to not let it happen again.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) Problems with quality will always occur when making films, if this doesn’t happen it means you’re not doing it right, if you are constantly questioning your quality (both technological and in general) it means you are striving to make a better film.   I want the quality of my project to be outstanding in editing, filming, and graphics and audio. My strengths are that I know how to use effective editing software such as the adobe programmes. As well as my own camera, the main actor in our movie also has a Canon 1300D and a Go-Pro which we can use.  I have been looking at microphone attachment for my camera and all are fairly expensive and as mentioned I don’t want to be spending lots of money, therefore to combat this I will try my hardest to book a mic from the college that will fit in with our filming schedule.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) It is important to always be working towards goals in a project, setting deadlines and exceed these goals is the key to a good outcome from a project.  My next action is to film the movie itself, I am looking forward to this part of the project the most, therefore I will be striving to make the best film I can.  This stage is crucial, if I forget to film a certain part of the movie it will all go wrong. I need to make sure I do not miss any more filming dates as this will result in the whole project becoming delayed.

Week 5 – 16/01/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?)  Another week on and I have just completed all my pre production work before the new time schedule said I would finish.  As mentioned, I have completed all the work ahead of schedule.  I need to get feedback on my work and make any necessary changes, therefore I must make sure I give myself time just incase my work isn’t to the correct standard.
Cost (Do you have a budget?)  I do have a budget but it is not like I have to spend a lot of money, I am also dividing it with the person I am working with.  I have purchased all the props I need and have only spent around 5 pounds.  The actor we are using plays the only large role in the story, therefore I feel obliged to pay him for the acting he is doing, I will not be giving him much but it still sets me back in terms of money.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) As mentioned I have acquired all the props I need for my film, now I just need to work on the time schedule for the filming process.  All props have been bought meaning now I can focus on the next step which is filming  I don’t have a mic for my camera as it is out of the question to buy one, I should be able to hire one from the college so I can increase audio quality.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?)  As you have read in last week’s column, this project cover units 5, 6 and 7 and we are required to make an interactive video with the subject of revolution. I am doing the theme of gangs and cyber black mail.  The next aim of the project is the filming stage, all pre-production is complete so now I am just waiting to plan the filming stage.  Like with the pre-production, I must make sure my time management is successful so I can continue the main scope of the project (filming) with ease.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?)  Problems with quality will always occur when making films, if this doesn’t happen it means you’re not doing it right, if you are constantly questioning your quality (both technological and in general) it means you are striving to make a better film.  I want the quality of my project to be outstanding in editing, filming, and graphics and audio. My strengths are that I know how to use effective editing software such as the adobe programmes. As well as my own camera, the main actor in our movie also has a Canon 1300D and a Go-Pro which we can use.  What may let me down is not using the equipment to its full potential to get the best quality. I am fairly new to these software’s and camera equipment; therefore, I may not be using them to their full potential. I may need to buy a microphone for my camera as the audio on the camera isn’t great.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding)  It is important to always be working towards goals in a project, setting deadlines and exceed these goals is the key to a good outcome from a project.  My next action is to film the movie itself, I am looking forward to this part of the project the most, therefore I will be striving to make the best film I can.  This stage is crucial, if I forget to film a certain part of the movie it will all go wrong. I need to make sure I plan and use my time wisely in order to get the best outcome.

Week 4 – 09/01/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long do you have?) It has been a week since my last update. Time is going by very fast but I have managed to stick to the time schedule after making a few changes. As mentioned, I have managed to stink to the schedule even after making a few changes so I have a longer amount of time to complete the tasks as it fits in better with my teachers What I should’ve done is found out exactly how long the teachers were giving us to do these pre-production tasks so I could’ve planned my time schedule better preventing me from changing it.
Cost (Do you have a budget?) A week on, I have begun to look at what props are needed for my film, I have bought a fake retractable blade from amazon which is a start and that only cost £1.50p which doesn’t affect me financially at all. As mentioned last week, if I need to buy any more props I am able to due to the fact I have a steady source of money coming in, however I do not want to be spending large amounts of money. Now I know what theme I am going with, I know that I may have to buy props such as fake guns and apparel to fit the stereotype of gang members. These items can be difficult to acquire (more so than most props) due to the danger of real weapons. Because of this they may cost more money that what a normal prop would cost.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) I now know my theme of the film, and need to begin to look at and acquire the right resources such as props so my film will look realistic. As previously mentioned, I have already bought a fake knife from amazon which in sure will be put to good use in our film. Filming will commence in the next few weeks and due to delivery times on sites such as amazon I need to by any props needed within the next week, this puts me under pressure as I already have much to be doing.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?) As you have read in last week’s column, this project cover units 5, 6 and 7 and we are required to make an interactive video with the subject of revolution. I am doing the theme of gangs and cyber black mail. After finding out more about this project and beginning the work load I am still enjoying the whole ideas of the project. I must make sure I control my time management due to the fact I am enjoying this unit. I may forget that I also have to do theory work and could get carried away in the filming and editing process.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) Problems with quality will always occur when making films, if this doesn’t happen it means you’re not doing it right, if you are constantly questioning your quality (both technological and in general) it means you are striving to make a better film. I want the quality of my project to be outstanding in editing, filming, and graphics and audio. My strengths are that I know how to use effective editing software such as the adobe programmes. As well as my own camera, the main actor in our movie also has a Canon 1300D and a Go-Pro which we can use. What may let me down is not using the equipment to its full potential to get the best quality. I am fairly new to these software’s and camera equipment; therefore, I may not be using them to their full potential. I may need to buy a microphone for my camera as the audio on the camera isn’t great.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) It is important to always be working towards goals in a project, setting deadlines and exceed these goals is the key to a good outcome from a project. My next action is to do some more research into the subject I will make my film on (since I now know the theme of my film), I believe both my primary and secondary research skills are fairly effective so this shouldn’t be an issue for me. The actions I take each week must have potential as if I am wasting my time with my actions the project will make little progress.

Week 3 – 02/01/2017

Positives

Personal Strengths

Negatives

Personal weaknesses

Time (How long have you got?) We have roughly 9 weeks to complete this unit, However I am only on college premises four days a week so it may help my situation if at some point I come in my own time. My time management is fairly good, I like to plan roughly a week ahead, this is usually a good time to plan in advance but I may need to plan further in advance with this project. My weaknesses consist of using my time wisely, although I do plan a week or so in advance, I don’t always complete the tasks due to lack of motivation at times, I don’t think that will happen with this unit as it is very appealing to me.
Cost (Do you have a budget?) With this project, I can make the video and do all the planning without having to spend any money directly on the production and post production itself. If by any means I needed to spend money to either do a certain part of the project or make it better, it is an option as I have a job, therefore I am in a financial position to spend a little money, that doesn’t mean I have to or definitely will. The negative at the moment with the cost is that I’m not entirely sure with what theme my project is going to go with, I’ve said that I don’t need any money but if I do a theme which requires lots of props then I may have to spend quite a bit of money which I don’t want to be doing.
Resources (How much time are you spending on the project, what resources do you have? Need?) With any movie project, props are needed to make it look the way you want it to. I am not sure on the theme I am going for yet but I am certain it will need at least some props. I may have a few random resources such as props like toy guns from my little brother which may help out. I also will not need to borrow a camera from the college as I have both a camera and a tripod. This is a huge help as it means the times which I can film are almost unlimited. I don’t have any specific resources to a certain theme whatsoever at the moment as I don’t know the type of movie I will be creating.
Scope (What is the scope of the project?) This project covers units 5, 6 and 7 (audio, visual and interactive). We have to make an interactive video which will have multiple outcomes on a subject of our choice. At the moment I am thinking of the subject ‘gangs’. This unit is interesting to me, much more than the last one was, I believe I will exceed my targets due to the fact I will be much more motivated this time around. Although this project is appealing to me, I still don’t know what I am going to do for the project itself, I am thinking about doing the subject of gangs as I’ve said, but I’m still not sure and I need to work it out soon.
Quality (Are you reviewing and fixing quality problems?) Problems with quality will always occur when making films, if this doesn’t happen it means you’re not doing it right, if you are constantly questioning your quality (both technological and in general) it means you are striving to make a better film. I want the quality of my project to be outstanding in editing, filming, and graphics and audio. My strengths are that I know how to use effective editing software such as the adobe programmes, as previously mentioned I also have a good quality camera. What may let me down is not using the equipment to its full potential to get the best quality. I am fairly new to these software’s and camera equipment; therefore, I may not be using them to their full potential. I may need to buy a microphone for my camera as the audio on the camera isn’t great.
Actions (Do you have action items outstanding) It is important to always be working towards goals in a project, setting deadlines and exceed these goals is the key to a good outcome from a project. My next action is to do some research into the subject I will make my film on, I believe both my primary and secondary research skills are fairly effective so this shouldn’t be an issue for me. The issue with actions at this point in time is the fact my project doesn’t have much direction yet as I still don’t know the subject I will be doing, once I know my subject from the research I can start making bigger and more effective actions.
Leave a Reply

